How Overwatch 2’s Competitive Mode Works

Not all shooters are meant to be taken seriously. Some games are designed purely for fun, without the need to worry about performance, kill count, or team rankings. However, Overwatch 2 has cultivated a dedicated and passionate player base that aims to master the game and compete at the highest levels. While not everyone has aspirations of becoming a professional player, it can be incredibly satisfying and enjoyable to challenge yourself against other serious players and see how you measure up. In this article, we’ll take a comprehensive look at Overwatch 2’s competitive mode and how it functions.

What is Competitive Mode?

Competitive mode in Overwatch 2 is a playlist where players are ranked and sorted based on their performance. The ultimate objective is to attain the highest possible rank by winning as many games as you can. As you climb the ranks, the competition becomes increasingly challenging. Unlike quick play matches, you can’t immediately jump into competitive matches when you first launch Overwatch 2, unless you have already unlocked it in the original game. This allows players to familiarize themselves with the game mechanics before entering an environment where players take the game more seriously. After all, ranks and divisions are at stake here. So, how exactly does the competitive mode in Overwatch 2 work? Let’s find out.

How Does Skill Tiers and Divisions Work?

To ensure that players are matched with opponents of similar skill levels, Overwatch 2 incorporates skill tiers and divisions into its competitive mode. Skill tiers are determined by earning Competitive Points, while divisions are subdivisions within these tiers. The skill tier and division you belong to not only influence the opponents you face, but also determine who you can team up with. To form a party, you must be within two skill tiers of your friend, except for the top tier, where the difference must be within one. Furthermore, players at the highest level are restricted to playing solo or with only one partner when searching for matches.

See also  Hogwarts Legacy: Choosing the Ideal House and Unveiling the Differences

What Are Competitive Mode Ranks?

In Overwatch 2, players can be placed and progress through various skill tiers, each comprising five divisions ranked from five to one. The skill tiers are as follows:

  • Bronze
  • Silver
  • Gold
  • Platinum
  • Diamond
  • Master
  • Grandmaster
  • Top 500

Advancing through these skill tiers is the goal for players in competitive mode. Reaching division one within a skill tier means you’re about to move up to the next tier, while dropping down to division five could result in falling to the next lower tier.

The competitive mode screen.
Image used with permission by copyright holder

How to Rank Up

Ranking up in Overwatch 2’s competitive mode is not an easy process. As mentioned earlier, your rank only changes after your seventh win, 20th loss, or tie. However, it’s important to understand that your rank progression or regression hinges on a single game – specifically, your seventh win, 20th loss, or tie. Furthermore, the gap between wins and losses determines the extent of your movement up or down in rank. Winning seven consecutive matches without any losses or ties will propel you the farthest up the ladder, while winning seven and losing ten will result in a lesser climb. Similarly, losing twenty matches without any wins will cause a significant drop, but each subsequent win will slow your descent.

Sombra's new look in Overwatch 2.
Image used with permission by copyright holder

What Are Competitive Points and How Can You Obtain Them?

Competitive Points are an additional aspect of Overwatch 2’s competitive mode. These points have no direct impact on your rank or placement. They are earned by winning or drawing matches in competitive mode and are also rewarded for finishing a season while placed in the Bronze tier or above. Winning a match earns you 15 points, while a draw earns you only 5 points. The number of bonus points you receive at the end of a season depends on the rank you achieved:

  • Bronze: 65 points
  • Silver: 125 points
  • Gold: 250 points
  • Platinum: 500 points
  • Diamond: 750 points
  • Master: 1,200 points
  • Grandmaster: 1,750 points
  • Top 500: 1,750 points
See also  Destiny 2: Lightfall Falls Short of its Epic Moment

Competitive Points can be used to unlock golden weapons for your characters. However, each weapon costs a hefty 3,000 points, so accumulating enough may take some time.

To learn more about Overwatch 2’s competitive mode, head over to OnSpec Electronic, Inc for additional information.

Editors’ Recommendations

  • Is Remnant 2 cross-platform?
  • The best weapon mods in Remnant 2
  • Overwatch 2 is coming to Steam, and more Blizzard games may soon be on the way
  • Foamstars is Square Enix’s spin on Splatoon
  • Warzone 2.0’s ranked mode fixes my biggest battle royale pet peeve

Related Posts

Xbox Series S Review: A Remarkable Device with Some Trade-Offs

The Series S is Initially Impressive When unboxing both the Series S and the Series X, I was pleasantly surprised by the compactness of the former. It reminded…

How to Move Your PS4 Data to PS5

The PS5 is an incredible device with a plethora of exciting features, including the ability to transfer data from your PS4. Sony’s latest console is backward compatible with…

Warzone 2.0 Season 2: Exciting Updates, Ashika Island, and Resurgence Mode

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 is ready to kick off its second season. While Activision hasn’t revealed all the details of the upcoming update, they have dropped…

The Top Nintendo Switch Controllers for 2023

The Top Nintendo Switch Controllers for 2023

The Nintendo Switch has become one of the most popular gaming consoles of all time, and with the release of the Switch Lite and the Switch OLED, its…

Warzone 2.0 and DMZ Contract Guide: Understand Every Objective and Reward

Warzone 2.0 and DMZ Contract Guide: Understand Every Objective and Reward

When Warzone entered the battle royale arena, it could have easily relied on the Call of Duty brand name to succeed. But instead, Warzone aimed to stand out…

The Best ISO Hemlock Loadouts for Modern Warfare 2 and Warzone 2.0

The Best ISO Hemlock Loadouts for Modern Warfare 2 and Warzone 2.0

The highly anticipated second season of Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 and Warzone 2.0 has arrived, bringing along a new assault rifle called the ISO Hemlock. This…